Reckless Driving Attorney in Phoenix, Arizona
Charged With Reckless Driving?
WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW
Arizona Revised Statute 28-693 defines reckless driving as a person who drives a vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property.
What Does Reckless Mean?
Recklessly is defined as with respect to a result or circumstance describe by statute, that a person is aware of and consciously disregards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the result will occur or that the circumstances exist. The risk must be of such nature and degree that the failure to perceive it constitutes a gross deviation from the standard of care that a reasonable person would observe in the situation.
A first-time conviction for reckless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor. A class 2 misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of 4 months in jail, 2 years of probation, and $750 in fines. In addition, the Department of Motor Vehicle may suspend your driving privileges for a period of not more than ninety days.
A person who has been previously convicted of a violation within a period of twenty-four months, may be found guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.
Misdemeanor Sentencing Chart
A person guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor is not eligible for probation, pardon, suspension of sentence, or release on any basis until the person has served not less than twenty days in jail. The Department of Motor Vehicle may suspend the driving privilege for one year.
Reckless driving is a jury eligible offense, and a conviction carries 8 points in the Arizona’s Point System for Moving Violations. If you have been charged with reckless driving, give us a call we will be glad to evaluate your case and provide you with your options.